21 Foods To Avoid with A Celiac Disease Diet Plan

on August 9, 2018

Foods to avoid in celiac disease diet plan are wheat, barley, bulgur, oats, rye, seitan, barley malt, chicken broth, malt vinegar, salad dressings, burgers, soy sauce, seasonings and spice mixes, soba noodles, condiments, graham flour, kamut, matzo, semolina, spelt and cracked wheat.

Celiac disease (gluten-sensitive enteropathy), sometimes called sprue or coeliac, is an immune reaction to eating gluten, a protein found in wheat, barley and rye. If you have celiac disease, eating gluten triggers an immune response in your small intestine. Over time, this reaction damages your small intestine’s lining and prevents absorption of some nutrients (malabsorption). The intestinal damage often causes diarrhea, fatigue, weight loss, bloating and anemia and can lead to serious complications. In children, malabsorption can affect growth and development, in addition to the symptoms seen in adults. There’s no cure for celiac disease, but for most people, following a strict gluten-free diet can help manage symptoms and promote intestinal healing.

Keeping this in mind, in this article, we will discuss 21 foods which you have to avoid in order to live a healthy life without any physical complications. Also, we will list foods which you can safely consume without triggering your gluten allergy. The list of foods to avoid are-

Celiac Disease Diet Plan: 21 Foods to Avoid

celiac disease diet

Wheat:

Wheat is one of the major grains of any diet, irrespective of the place. It is the most common food containing gluten, so in spite of its cultural importance, it has to be avoided.

Barley:

Barley is another grain containing gluten. Therefore, people with celiac disease should avoid it at all costs.

Bulgur:

Bulger is a cereal made from the parboiled groats of several wheat species. Although an ideal food for people aiming for weight-loss, it is best avoided for people suffering from gluten intolerance.

Oats:

Oats themselves don’t contain gluten, but are often processed in facilities that produce gluten-containing grains and may be contaminated. Therefore, be wary of store-bought oats.

Read More: 11 Health Benefits of Sorghum in your Baby’s Diet

Rye:

Rye is a grass grown extensively as a grain, a cover crop and a forage crop. It is a member of the wheat tribe and is closely related to barley and wheat, therefore should be avoided.

Seitan:

Often called “wheat protein,” “wheat meat” or “wheat gluten,” seitan (pronounced say-tahn) has a look and texture shockingly similar to meat when it’s cooked, and its alternative namesakes are quite fitting since it’s made from gluten, the main protein found in wheat. It is a complete no-no for people with celiac disease.

Barley malt:

Malted barley is the source of the sugars (principally maltose) which are fermented into beer. The malting process allows the grain to partially germinate, making the seed’s resources available to the brewer.

Read More: Top 7 Causes for Child Vomiting

Chicken broth:

Commercially prepared chicken broth can contain gluten, since it is a good thickening agent. Therefore, avoid it and prepare chicken broth at home.

Malt vinegar:

Malt vinegar is not gluten free because it contains malt which contains barley. The starting material for malt vinegar can include barley, rye, or wheat. Because these vinegars are made from alcohol that has been fermented and not distilled they are not gluten free.

Salad dressings:

Again, certain commercially prepared salad dressings might contain gluten, so just check the labels carefully before buying them.

Read More: 15 Surprising Health Benefits of Macadamia Nuts

Burgers:

Burger breads are made from wheat, so they are not gluten free either. However, certain joints might make vegan, gluten free burgers, so just make sure you check their specifications before ordering your favourite burger.

Soy sauce:

Soy sauce is made with fermented wheat. Flour is often used as a thickener in soups and sauces. An easy solution is to bring your own gluten-free soy sauce.

Seasonings and spice mixes:

Gluten is extensively used in seasonings and spices, so it is no wonder that some people just can’t identify from where their gluten intolerance comes from. Make sure you check the labels carefully.

Soba noodles:

Many packaged soba noodles contain wheat flour, so check for the ones that contain buckwheat flour.

Condiments:

A lot of commercially prepared condiments actually contain gluten, so be wary of that.

Read More: 21 Foods that Worsen Irritable Bowel Syndrome in Children

Graham flour:

Commercially made graham flour contains gluten. The alternative is to make your own graham flour at home.

Kamut:

 Kamut is not among these alternatives, however, as it is an ancient relative of durum wheat. Cereals, breads and baked goods made with kamut contain gluten.

Matzo:

The most common form of knaidel, known as the matzo ball, is made from unleavened matzo meal and served in chicken soup in some places. Matzo meal contains wheat, making it unsuitable for those on a gluten free diet.

Semolina:

People with celiac disease can safely eat many common plants, seeds, grains, cereals and flour, including corn, polenta, potatoes, rice and soya. However they should avoid semolina as it contains gluten.

Read More: Health Benefits of Papaya for Babies

Spelt:

Like other forms of wheat, spelt contains the gluten protein, and therefore, isn’t safe for those of us who have celiac disease or non-celiac gluten sensitivity. The idea that spelt, spelt flour, and baked goods made with spelt are safe on the gluten-free diet is one of the oldest gluten-free urban myths.

Cracked wheat:

Cracked wheat, or dahlia, is a great option for those aiming for weight loss, but it should be avoided by people with celiac disease.

It might initially seem like a daunting task to compile a list of foods that are gluten free, especially after reading this list. But worry not, because we are going to make a short list of foods that are gluten free and healthy. They are common foods and self explanatory, so we are going to just present the names:

  • fruitsand vegetables
  • beans
  • seeds
  • legumes
  • nuts
  • potatoes
  • eggs
  • dairy products
  • oilsand vinegars
  • corn
  • rice
  • fish
  • lean beef
  • chicken
  • seafood

All these foods are free from wheat, which contains the protein gluten; therefore they are ideal for those suffering from celiac disease. You can include these foods in your diet without any worry.

Related Posts

Popular Posts

Top